Books in the middle of the series…

After finishing up The Warded Man a couple of days ago, I’ve begun reading it’s first sequel called The Desert Spear, which is the second book in what is going to be a 5 book series.  The second book can be a very difficult book to approach in many ways.  Obviously you want to see how it compares to the first book and how well it continues the story, but also, it needs to be a fairly self contained book.  It obviously isn’t made to stand on it’s own, but it needs to be satisfying on its own.  Some of the later books in the Wheel of Time have this problem.  They don’t really hold up on their own, and definitely don’t hold up on your first read through.  I love the WoT and thoroughly enjoyed all of the books when I reread the series once The Gathering Storm came out, but it’s something to consider.  I’ve met a lot of people in college who started reading the WoT but stopped around book 7 or so when it starts to slow down a little bit.

It’s always interesting to see how middle books in series can hold up on their own and not just in relation to other books in the series.  We’ll see how well The Desert Spear holds up to being a second book.  The Wise Man’s Fear, the sequel to The Name of the Wind is also on my list of books to read and I’ll probably consider it with many of the same thoughts in my mind.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: