I Don’t Want to Kill You

I Don’t Want to Kill You is the third book in Dan Well’s debut trilogy that follows John Cleaver, a 15 year old sociopath.  I started this book yesterday, and finished it today.  I probably would have finished it yesterday but I bowl on Thursday evenings and I went there last night.  Anyway, here we go.

Book Stats

320 Pages (paperback)

3rd book in its series after I Am Not a Serial Killer and Mr. Monster

Thriller/Horror

Characters

This is why the book shines, John Wayne Cleaver is probably the most interesting character I’ve read in any book for a long time.  Even though he has undergone two complete growth arcs in the first two books, Dan Wells finds another way to force him to grow that never contradicts what he has done in the first two books.  The plot was interesting, but without John being the character that he is the book wouldn’t work quite as well as it does.

Setting

The book is centered in Clayton County North Dakota as the first two books are.  In this book John is a little more active in the overall community as he is able to drive and even gets a girlfriend who causes him to be much more active in the community as a whole.

When I first published this review, I mistakenly listed the book as occurring in Clayton County Utah.  I wasn’t exactly sure where it took place, so I assumed that it took place in Utah, where the author lives.  When I reread the book I noticed that he actually does say the book takes place in North Dakota.

Plot

The plot continues where the second book left off, after John called the third demon at the end of book two, he continues to look for the demon even though in the beginning of the book he has no idea what he’s looking for.  The plot works very well and does enough to keep you guessing as to who exactly John is looking for, but you never get bored while he’s looking.

Enjoyment

The book maintains an excellent level of tension, but never goes too far without giving you time to breathe, and the balance between John trying to track a demon and trying to live his personal life is perfect.  The first book caused you to watch as John broke all of his personal rules, the second showed the results of breaking those rules, and the third shows the paranoia from being the hunter instead of the hunted.  This book is fantastic and I couldn’t read it fast enough.  If you’ve read the first two books go buy this one NOW, if you haven’t, go read them so that you can read this one, you won’t be disappointed.

Overall Grade

I loved this book, and I think everyone should read it, go buy it now.

10/10

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

