5,000 words

I’ve said before that I work at a bowling alley, and summers are slow times for bowling alleys (at least around where I live).  It’s nice outside and people don’t want to spend all that time indoors.  As a result, I’m not working nearly as many hours as I was up until a few weeks ago.  In addition, I finished my college courses and got my B.A. in Psychology this past semester, so I’m done with school.

So what have I been doing recently?  Well, for starters I’ve been reading a lot of books, hence why I’ve read 10 full novels in the past month.  Not all of these were the massive 700+ page books that I read fairly often, but they are full novels.

I’ve been bowling a couple nights a week, and working a little, but I’ve still got a lot of free time on my hands.  So I finally started something I’ve been thinking about doing for quite some time, I’ve started writing.

The reason I’m finally talking about my writing now even though I’ve been doing it off and on for about 2 weeks is because today I hit 5,000 words in my story.

I think my story is fun, I think that it’s kind of entertaining.  I don’t know what it’s going to end up being, it will probably end up being around 7-10k words which I think is still considered a short story, who knows.

I’ll most likely submit it to a few different places to see if I can get it published, I don’t know what I would be able to get from it, and I don’t really care right now, I think it’s fun and after about 5 or 6 days that I’ve worked on it I’ve hit 5,000 words.

5,000 words, it’s a good start.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. BookSnob

     /  June 13, 2011

    Haha, I know what you mean. I was so excited I finally made it to 5,000 words, I was dancing. Then 10,000, I smiled all day. At 25,000 (half my goal) I shrugged happily. Now I’m 600 words from making 30,000. I should be partying, but… There’s nothing better than the first 5,000 words. Ever.

    Reply
  1. The First Draft « blizzerd03

Leave a Reply

