The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

For the first time in my blog I’m reviewing a book that I’ve read before.  This will happen from time to time, for one I’m planning on re-reading the Mistborn trilogy eventually, I’m also going to read through the Wheel of Time again before the last book comes out, and I might go through some other books as well.

I posted earlier today that I finished The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb.  I also wrote in there that it’s not an easy read, so I decided to go after something that is an easy read.  As evidenced by the fact that I’m writing this review the same day as I wrote The Black Swan review, this book is a really quick read.  Anytime you need a break from some in depth reading, Douglas Adams is always a great option.

Book Stats

208 pages (paperback)

I have “The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide” which has all 5 Hitchhiker books in one volume and it’s 144 pages in this collection.

1st book in a 5-part trilogy

Science Fiction/Satire

Characters

The book focuses on Arthur Dent, a random man from England, his friend Ford Prefect who is actually an alien from a small planet in the vicinity of Betelgeuse 5, Trillian, another human from England, and Zaphod Beeblebrox, the President of the Galaxy.  The primary viewpoint is from Arthur, and we watch as he has no idea what is going on as he travels throughout the galaxy.

Setting

The book starts on Earth, but the planet is quickly destroyed, so we venture throughout the rest of the galaxy.  The majority of this book is either on the various ships the characters are on and the planet of Magrathea.

Plot

The reader is essentially in Arthur’s viewpoint, and his perspective in the plot is just going along with what everyone else is doing, he really has no idea what is going on for most of the book.  But we watch as he and Ford escape the Earth’s destruction, then as they’re left for dead in the middle of space, then rescued by pure chance and so on throughout the book.  Somewhat like the humor in the book, the plot is very much a series of non-sequiters.

Enjoyment

Sometimes you want a serious book, and sometimes you want a humorous book.  This is a well crafted humor book that works well, as long as you don’t try to take it too seriously.  I love this book.  The plot bounces all over the place, but it works well enough for the main purpose of the book which is to tell some of the strangest jokes you’ll ever read.

Overall Grade

I love this book, I love the humor and everything else about it.  Go read this book, and remember your towel.

10/10

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. NPR’s Top 100 Teen Novels « Reviews and Ramblings

Leave a Reply

