The First Draft

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post saying that I hit 5,000 words for a short story that I was writing.  Well, today I just finished what I wanted to accomplish for the overall draft of the story.  I wasn’t looking for a specific word count, I just had an idea of where I wanted the story to go, and I got most of what I wanted in the story into the story.

This is by no means a finished product, even as I was still writing it I was thinking about things that I wanted to change about parts that I had written previously.  I’m also going to add some more omniscient viewpoints before each scene that will add to the overall idea that I based the story off of.

I didn’t try to write a specific length of story, I just kept typing till I was done, and I finished up the first draft at 8220 words, which according to the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America technically makes this a novelette.  I don’t care, I just have a draft done, and I’ll start working on a revision and finishing up in the next couple of days.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ashley (futurewriter13)

     /  July 1, 2011

    your story definitely sounds interesting! i’ve been working on short stories too. i hope that you post some of it here so people can read it!

    Reply
  2. Liam Wood

     /  September 17, 2011

    Definitely post it here (please?). Fantasy is my life, and, in my own writing, my characters’ lives too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

