My Goal – Part 2

Last week I put a post up here giving my intention of reaching 210 pounds by my 27th birthday.  I’ve done a lot of different things over the course of my life, and I have to say that this is probably one of the hardest.  I’ve changed a lot about how I’m living my life right now.  My diet, how much I’m exercising, it’s a lot to try to do at once, but I decided that it needs to be done.

The biggest problem with trying to lose weight is that there are no immediate results.  For my first post on this, when I weighed myself I was at 231.2, which was already down about 10 pounds from the roughly 240 that I was at earlier this summer.  Maybe because of the gradual nature of weight loss, I haven’t noticed much of a change in how I look physically.  The one place where I have noticed a difference honestly is that my left knee doesn’t bother me as much when I’m bowling, and I attribute that entirely to my weight loss.

I need to start getting dressed to go to work today, so I’m going to end the post here.  I’m continuing to track my progress, and here is the official weight this week.

July 10th 2011 – 231.2

July 17th 2011 – 225.6

Target: <210 by October 4th 2011

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The difficulty you mention – no immediate results – is parallel to one of the problems I faced in giving up cigarettes, and also, the negative consequences are delayed. I told myself, “I’ll start tomorrow,” a whole lot of times, with no hangovers or that kind of dramatic results.

    I think your decision to post your progress is a wonderful way of nurturing motivation. Congratulations on your first week, and keep at it!

    On several occasions I quit smoking for three months or so a time and then started again. One time I stopped for two years until my father came for a visit and I found one cigarette in the guest room after he left. It took a lot of time and ups and downs, but now it has been 14 years, and I don’t expect to start again. I don’t wheeze anymore going upstairs. It’s worth it. I’m sure you will find the same kind of thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

