My Goal – Part 3

Week three of posting my progress towards my weight loss goal.  As I said last week, this might be the most difficult and irritating thing that I’ve ever done.  Much of the difficulty comes from being unable to see immediate results.  That said, yesterday I was pleasantly surprised when one of my neighbors said that I looked like I was losing weight.  So while I may not be able to notice much of a difference, apparently it’s getting to the point where other people can tell.

All that being said, this past week was a bit of a rough week for my goal.  I posted on here early Wednesday morning that Tuesday night I went to go see Jimmy Buffett in concert, which meant that the night included quite a few margaritas as well as eating more that day than I have been.  While I only post my progress on here on Sundays, I do check my weight throughout the week, and this week I thought that I would be in pretty much the same spot I was last week, if not a little higher, which I would have been ok with.  For me a valuable part of trying this is to allow myself to cheat a little on what I eat, usually once a week I’ll go out for ice cream or some other form of desert.  I knew I was going to see Buffett so I made sure that that was my day to go overboard a little bit.

All in all, I was a little surprised and quite pleased as I checked my weight before my post today.  So here we go with the update and progress check:

7/10 – 231.2

7/17 – 225.6

7/24 – 224.0

Goal <210 by October 4th

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hi Adam,

    I see your goal is to lose 14 lbs by October. I’ve actually seen much faster weight loss than that and you could surely reach your goal by next month if the correct diet is followed. I would recommend a book “The 4-Hour Body” by Tim Ferriss or any book on the “Paleo Diet” (eg. The Paleo Solution, The Primal Blueprint). Or, here is a good essay by Dr. Kurt Harris: http://www.archevore.com/panu-weblog/2011/3/30/paleo-20-a-diet-manifesto.html

    Good luck,

    Ben

    Reply
    • You’re right, 14 pounds over the 10 weeks or so really isn’t that bad. I’m not sure if you looked at my original post for my goal but getting down to 210 will actually be losing a total of about 30 pounds over the course of the summer. I’ll definitely check out the essay you posted.

      Thanks for stopping by and thank you for the encouragement.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

