My Goal – Week 5

Week 5 of recording my progress towards my weight loss goal.  Up until the time that I write these posts I’m never really sure what I’m going to talk about in them.  It would be fairly easy to to go over the same ideas again that I’ve put in previous posts, but I don’t want to do that every week.  I would get tired of writing the same thing, and I’m sure that everyone who reads my posts would get tired of reading the same thing every week.  So instead this week I’m going to rant against something that irritates me concerning weight loss.

I tend to be a night person, I’m usually up until about 1 or 2 in the morning and I usually wake up around 10 or so.  While I don’t watch nearly as much TV as I used to, I still have the same pet peeve that I’m sure many people do, I hate commercials.  One of the most irritating kinds of commercials for me were all the weight-loss commercials that are on late at night.  One of the things that always bothered me is that every one of the commercials started with the exact same line: “diets don’t work.”

Anyone with half a brain knows that this is BS.  Any time that you reduce your caloric intake you are going to lose weight, it’s that simple.  The problem comes from people who can’t keep on a diet.  There’s a fairly simple reason for this, it’s hard and you’re never going to see quick results.  It’s also a bad thing to lose weight too quickly, because the first thing you’re going to do once you’re off your diet is revert to eating more and gaining weight again.

I’m down about 13 pounds in 5 weeks since I started keeping track on my blog, and about 20 pounds since I started trying to lose weight earlier in the summer (I started at about 240 pounds) and I honestly don’t exercise quite as much as I should.  I do go out and walk/jog a couple of miles anywhere from 1-3 times a week, but not nearly as often as I should.  For me my weight loss has been almost entirely due to my change of diet.  And even though I said earlier that I didn’t want to repeat myself in every post, I’m going to have to repeat one thing here, some advice for anyone who is trying to lose weight: it gets easier, it really does.

Anyway, time for this weeks weigh-in:

7/10 – 231.2

7/17 – 225.6

7/24 – 224.0

7/31 – 221.6

8/7 – 218.8

Goal <210 by 10/4

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

