Sucker Punch

A little bit of a different post this time.  Today I watched the movie Sucker Punch.  I had wanted to see this movie when it was out in theaters, but I didn’t go (as much as I like movies, I absolutely hate going to theaters, they just irritate me).  After watching the movie, I’m glad I never paid for it (I watched my brother’s DVD of the movie today).

The plot for this movie is irritating, essentially a girl’s parents die and when her father’s will leaves everything to her and her sister their guardian gets pissed, kills her sister and sends her to an insane asylum.  While there she meets some other girls and discovers what kind of place it really is.  Unfortunately, the plot was pretty much non-existant from that point on.  The plot gets lost because you’re never really sure whether she is just fantasizing about what is going on and you never have any idea what is really happening.

Overall the movie was little more than an excuse to have some pretty girls in skimpy outfits fighting weird monsters and whatnot.  It’s little more than a movie designed to appeal to a bunch of teenage boys (which is why they worked hard to make it a PG-13 movie rather than an R rated movie).  Part of what I use as a rating for a movie is how intently I’m watching it.  I started looking at the clock for this movie 30 minutes in and about an hour in I was surfing online and playing a game on my iPod.

Overall Grade

I really wanted to like this movie, but after watching it, I think the director owes me 2 hours of my life back.  The only way I could be more pissed off with this movie is if I had actually paid for it.

2/10

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I had been considering seeing this movie, but I’ve been hesitant to actually do it, since I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews. According to your review, the movie is exactly what I feared it would be – a whole lotta fanservice. I think I’ll be giving this one a miss. Thanks for saving me a couple of hours! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

