Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood

I haven’t been reading as much over the past couple of days, mostly because I started playing Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood.  Much like when I start reading a book, I tend to keep reading until I finish it, I tend to do the same thing when I start playing a videogame.

So here are my thoughts about Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, it’s an improvement over Assassin’s Creed 2, but still flawed.  This game obviously plays very similarly to Assassin’s Creed 2, but with some differences, the differences are all that I’m going to discuss here.

The first main difference is that about 1/2 through this game you can start training your own assassins.  Training them is a very hands off process, you send them on missions and after a few minutes they return having gained experience, as well as money and occasionally items for you.  They do make the game more fun at times because it’s easy to call your trainees to help during a fight or to assassinate several guards at once.

You also get a couple of new weapons in this game.  The one that you’ll use the most is your crossbow, which is almost unfair for certain sections of the game.  I don’t think I ever used Ezio’s gun (unless I was required to by a mission) once I had the crossbow.  I think my favorite new weapon (even though I didn’t use it as much) was the ability to shoot poison darts.  You got poison in the second game, but shooting poison darts is just fun.

Another new aspect is that you can get various items throughout the game.  This was kind of neat, but ultimately pointless.  You can sell them for a little bit of money, which I never really needed, or you can trade them for new equipment and other items from various shops.  The problem with trying to trade them is that it was impossible to actually look for certain items.  There was one item that I never found throughout the entire game despite doing many of the sidequests, and opening about 85% of the treasure boxes throughout the game.  So while it was kind of a nice addition to the game, it was ultimately pointless and irritating by the end of the game.

All said, the game had some nice new features, but ultimately had the same problems that the first two had.  While the combat is much improved, it’s still irritating when you have to fight 10+ guards at once.  It also irritated me when I was trying to run away from guards to hide and ended up having twice as many guards following me.  Trying to run away from the guards and hiding was more trouble than it was worth.  There were also several parts of the game that were incredibly frustrating.  Some of the platforming sections were very irritating to the point where I wanted to throw my controller through the wall (but as PS3 controllers cost about $60, I refrained).

In the end, I have to describe this game the same way I’ve described the other two, I’m glad that I played the game, but I’m never going to play it again.  Am I going to play the next game in the series?  Probably.  Am I going to be upset if I don’t, probably not.

Overall Grade

The Assassin’s Creed games are all good, but they have the potential to be brilliant.

6/10

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Assassin’s Creed is one of the best games I’ve played…in terms of graphics / art / play…however I do not play that much. I have Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood but I haven’t started on it yet, as I am not done with Assassin’s Creed II yet. My only complaint about it is that it is too long (for me anyway) and of course, it gets repetitive. Otherwise, I think it is a very well-made, beautiful (in terms of graphics) game.

    Reply
    • The game is really good, but it could be brilliant, I mean one of the greatest games of all time brilliant. The graphics are beautiful yes, but too many parts of the game (and the series as a whole) are far too frustrating. I enjoyed the game, but I’m never going to play it again.

      Reply
      • Yes, it’s not the kind of game you’d want to play again. Actually once I’ve finished a game, I don’t want to play it again either.

Leave a Reply

