Job Hunting

I’ve had up in my page about me that I recently graduated with a B.A. in Psychology.  Since May when I graduated I’ve been looking for a full time job.  In the meantime, I’ve been bowling, reading, blogging, and working part time at a bowling alley.  I think I’ve said this in posts before, but I can say it again here, I live near Akron Ohio.  This past week, and especially the past couple of days have been really interesting.  I have a job interview next Tuesday.

In Madison Wisconsin.

I was blown away by the offer, and I’m interested in the company.  A large part of the reason I’m so interested in the company is because of how the company has handled my process of applying and interviewing with them.  They originally contacted me with an email saying that they looked at my resume and thought that I would be a good fit for a position that they are hiring for.  In the days since, I’ve contacted them both through email and a phone interview, and next week I have an interview in Madison.  Every part of the application process thus far has made me appreciate this company more and more.  I had my phone interview earlier today at around 2pm, and the call lasted until about 2:30.  I had an email with a rough outline for travel plans (including my flights and hotel reservations, which they’re also paying for) in my email before 3.  Everything about this company makes me want to like them more and more.

I don’t think that I’ll be able to post here until I get back late Tuesday night (I doubt I’m going to bring my laptop with me) so I’ll have to wait till then to see what happens.

I’m very excited about this, but at the same time a little terrified.  Every time you start a new job there is anxiety, combine that with moving out of state, moving away from my family for the first time (I still currently live at home with my parents), and starting a new job and it’s going to be an interesting trip should I get the job.

I’ll post an update on here when I get the chance, it should be a very interesting couple of days.  Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. I know I must have read that you lived in Akron, but I forgot that we lived so close. After college I moved to Washington DC for 3 years, met my future husband and we moved to Michigan for a few years so he could finish college. As he looked for jobs I knew I wanted to be in Ohio to be closer to family. We live a little over 2 hours a way and it’s a nice distance.
    I think it’s great to go try a new place, but don’t be surprised if someday you find yourself back home 🙂
    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

