30 Day Book #12 – Favorite Book Title

Book titles can be difficult to choose from.  Should it be something related to the subject of the book?  Or just something that sounds cool?  In some cases, the book title can drive someone to pick up the book, but not always.  Personally, I tend to lean more towards authors that I know or books that have been suggested to me either by people that I know or by surfing through blogs and finding books that people are high on (which is how I found both Room and The Book Thief, both books I enjoyed).

So which book title to choose for this post?  The Way of Kings (by Brandon Sanderson) is an interesting title, so is The Name of the Wind (by Patrick Rothfuss).  Or do I want to pick something a little stranger such as I Am Not a Serial Killer (by Dan Wells)?  Should I stay with the fiction books or should I go towards my collection of non-fiction or comedy books and pick either Dilbert and the Way of the Weasel (by Scott Adams) or When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops (a George Carlin book)?

All of these are fun book titles and books that I have enjoyed.  But ultimately I think my favorite book title is one that comes from a book I didn’t particularly enjoy.  It’s not that I hated the book, but I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as the books that I listed above.  One of my favorite book titles and the one that I’m listing here is Philip K Dick’s book Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

The book had some interesting ideas, and from everything I’ve heard Philip K Dick is a very well respected writer with a lot of good books.  But ultimately the title of this book was too intriguing for me to pass up.  The book title can go a long way towards getting a person interested in the book, and this one was unique enough to get me to pick up a book I normally might not have.

So now that I’ve rambled for a while, I’m going to ask for comments on everyone else’s favorite book titles.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

