30 Day Book #15 – Favorite Side Character (male)

When I was compiling my list of questions, I had two big problems with the various lists that I saw.  My first problem was that I didn’t like some of the negative questions that appeared on many lists.  If I’ve just finished reading a book and I didn’t like it, I’ll review it honestly, but I don’t want to trash a book by saying that X is my least favorite book of all time.  My other problem is that I didn’t see any questions concerning side characters.  I will readily admit that I thought of this question after finishing the books for my favorite female side character (coming tomorrow) but I also had absolutely no problem coming up with my favorite male side character.

So what makes a side character important?  If you’re going to read a long book, no matter who the main character is, no matter what the plot is, and no matter how interesting the world is, you need to have several interesting characters to help carry the story.

Although my question came from seeing an excellent female side character, my favorite male side character was just as easy to pick.  My choice for today’s topic is Fermin Romero de Torres from The Shadow of the Wind.  The Shadow of the Wind (by Carlos Ruiz Zafon) is a mystery set in the 1930’s through the 1940’s in Barcelona, and it’s an absolutely wonderful book.  One of the best parts of the book was Fermin, he was one of the best characters I’ve ever read in any book to the point that it was almost a flaw in the book because as a side character he was almost more interesting than Daniel who was the main character of the novel.

Fermin works for Daniel and his father in their bookstore where he helps track down rarer books that customers are looking for.  Fermin had an attitude and delivered dozens of brilliant lines throughout the book.  I use an index card as my bookmark, and if I find a passage or a line that I really like I’ll make a note on my bookmark with the page number so that I can find it again later.  For this book, I had probably 15 page numbers, and they were almost exclusively lines from Fermin.

Fermin really made that book for me.  The unfolding of the mystery was fairly slow throughout the book, and it could have really bogged down throughout the middle of the book.  Fermin and his humor really made this book work for me.  I would suggest this book to anyone, and Fermin and his humor are a large part of the reason why.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Fermin was a great character, I loved Shadow of the Wind! I’m actually writing a post about it later this week in a book challenge of my own. My favourite male side character would have to be Rudy from the Book Thief (this may be because I just finished reading it!). He was so kind and supportive of Liesel and came up with some great one liners!

    Reply
  2. That’s a great point, I never thought of Fermin as an almost-flaw, but that’s so true! He was incredibly interesting. There were so many noteworthy quotes in this book. I was overwhelmed trying to decide which were my favorite!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

