30 Day Book #28 – Book from a blog you enjoyed

Here’s a post that deals entirely with the community aspect of blogging.  When I’m looking through other blogs, I’m generally looking at other posts that have a lot to do with books.  Most of the blogs that I have subscribed to follow deal largely with books.  I read other blogs from time to time obviously, but the main focus of my blog is dealing with books, and that’s where I focus as well.  I’ve purchased and read several books that I’ve heard about on blogs, and I have a decent sized stack of books that I’m planning on buying eventually that I first heard about on various blogs.  All that said, this is an easy question.  My favorite book that I first heard about from a blog is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

I’m pretty sure that the first blog where I heard about this book was The Very Hungry Bookworm’s post here.  Oddly enough, I’m pretty sure that her blog was also the one that introduced me to Room by Emma Donoghue.  Anyway, The Book Thief was an absolutely brilliant book and one of the few books that I’ve read this year to get a 10/10 (without actually counting, I think there are maybe 7 books out of 70ish reviews thus far in my blog that have received a 10).

The Book Thief is the story of a young girl in Germany throughout WW2.  I’m not the biggest history buff, but it’s hard to be educated in any way shape or form and not know some things about WW2.  This book handles everything very well and shows much of the horror and terror of war without ever being graphic.  There are a couple of brilliant scenes in the book.  The premise for this book was brilliant, the execution of having Death be the narrator was excellent.  I can’t suggest this book highly enough, just go buy it and thank me for telling you about it later.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. theveryhungrybookworm

     /  October 22, 2011

    I am so happy that you enjoyed it! I keep buying copies of this books to give out to people lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

