30 Day Book #30 – Author I wish people would read more

Wow, day 30 of my 30 day book list.  I’m kind of surprised that it’s over already, it seems like it went pretty fast.  It’s also been interesting to write up my couple of paragraphs for each topic and hearing everyone give their comments on what I’ve had to say.  I’ve had people suggest quite a few books that I’m going to look into eventually (I’ve still got a stack of books to read through right now, and I’ve got quite a few books already on my list of books to check out eventually).

This last topic is one that I really wanted to include on my list.  We all have our favorite authors, and those are the authors that we quickly suggest to other people when they ask for a book to read.  And while I talked about my favorite author yesterday, today I’m going to talk about an author that I really wish people would read more of.  I’ve mentioned two of his books already on this list, but I still cannot praise his work highly enough.

Hubert Selby Jr. is easily one of the most unique authors that I’ve written about at all on this list.  Many of his works are either tragedies, or books dealing with anti-heroes (evil people as the primary perspective character of the book).  Because of the subject matter of his books, they won’t be for everyone.  Many of his books deal with drugs, sex, and crime.

Selby’s writing gives a powerful look at the darker side of humanity.  It’s a side that many people do not explore at all in their writing, even though it is there in the world.  While many authors tend to offer somewhat cookie-cutter stories and characters, I can honestly say that Selby’s books are some of the most unique books that I have ever read when looking at the subject matter and themes of his work.  Whether he’s writing about depression, the desire for revenge, addiction, or redemption, Selby’s books are unique and interesting to read.

The best thing I can say at this point is to go check out his books.  The one most people will have heard of is either Requiem for a Dream or Last Exit to Brooklyn.  My personal favorite books of his are Waiting Period and The Willow Tree.  Now that I’m writing this I wish I would have picked The Willow Tree for book 2 of this list over Requiem for a Dream.  The Willow Tree is easily his most uplifting book, and it is the story of a young man dealing with the desire for revenge after he and his girlfriend are attacked in NYC.  It is a beautifully written book with a truly perfect ending and it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read.

I’ve rambled on about how much I enjoy Selby’s work for quite a while now, and hopefully I’ve convinced you to look for some of his writing.  He is one of the most unique writers that I’ve had the privilege of reading and I strongly encourage everyone else to read his works as well.

Also, thanks again to everyone who’s been checking in on my 30 day book list.  I enjoyed posting about this every day and I hope you enjoyed reading them.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

