The Death Cure

The Death Cure is the third book in James Dashner’s Maze Runner trilogy.  I read the first book last year (well before I started my blog) and while it didn’t blow me away, I was interested enough to pick up the second book.  The Scorch trials I enjoyed and I thought it did some interesting things and I was looking forward to the third volume of the trilogy.  Sadly, this one didn’t work out for me.

Book Stats

324 pages

Science Fiction

Sequel to The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials

Characters

This book continues the journey of Thomas and company from the first two books.  The characters all seemed very flat to me in this book, and even as there were several moments that could have and probably should have been dramatic, I just didn’t care about what was happening to the characters I’ve been following for the three books.  Throughout the entire book Thomas never has any idea what is really going on (at one point even refusing to have his memories restored to him) and he just goes along with whatever everyone else tells him to do.  The characters in this book are all very frustrating and I just didn’t care about them by the end.

Setting

The setting from the first two books is expanded upon in this one.  We finally see more of what happened to put the Earth in the position that it’s in, and we find out the root cause of the Flare and why it exists in the world.  The book also spends a short time in Denver, and it’s interesting to see how the rest of the world has changed because of the virus.

Plot

The overall plot of this book is following Thomas as he is expected to finish the remaining trials so that a cure for the Flare can be developed.  The plotting in this book is a tangled mess.  It bounces around from one place to another and was never focused.  Even as you reach the final pages of the book where you expect there to be a big climactic scene, it never really happens.  The book just kind of ends, nothing is really resolved.

Enjoyment

This book took me about 3 days to read because I just couldn’t get into it.  I never cared about the characters, the plotting was a mess, and the worldbuilding by the end of the trilogy feels completely rushed and not very well planned.  By the end of this book you find out that the solar flares which damaged the Earth and made large areas completely uninhabitable had nothing to do with the disease that they’ve spent the better part of the last two books trying to find a cure for.  They were two separate worldbuilding ideas that had absolutely no relation to each other other than the name.  The premise for these books could be really interesting, but as a whole I can’t suggest this series too highly.

Overall Grade

Frustrating and annoying where it isn’t flat-out boring.

3/10

Series Grade

In many ways the strength of a series is based upon how enjoyable the ending of the last book was.  Well, this series didn’t do it for me at all.  I can’t imagine myself re-reading these books in the future and I don’t suggest the series very highly.

4/10

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Miss Anderson

     /  November 2, 2011

    I read The Maze Runner, also, and wasn’t terribly impressed. I had pondered giving the others a try, but I’ll hold off and save my valuable reading time for other books, I guess!

    Reply
  1. NPR’s Top 100 Teen Novels « Reviews and Ramblings

Leave a Reply

