The Murder on the Links

My local Barnes & Noble has a fairly large selection of Mystery books.  Mystery novels are not my most common reads, but I’ve been known to partake in them from time to time.  Recently I’ve been working my way through Agatha Christie’s Poirot novels, and The Murder on the Links is another novel featuring the famous Belgian detective.

Book Stats

249 pages

Mystery

Stand Alone

Characters

Poirot’s assistant Hastings is once again the primary viewpoint character in this book.  There’s nothing terribly new here as far as characters go, you have your various suspects in the case as well as those who were affected by the murder, and they’re all well written if not overwhelmingly memorable.

Setting

Merlinville, France is the setting for this novel.  Although it could really be any number of cities.

Plot

Similar to Dumb Witness, Poirot receives a letter from someone who believes they are in trouble only to find that the person is murdered before Poirot is able to help them.  Ultimately it is up to Poirot to solve the mystery of what happened.  This novel is slightly different in that while examining the clues for the first murder, a second body is found.

Enjoyment

This is probably the shortest book review I’ve ever written to this point, but if you’ve read a couple of the Poirot mysteries you know that they follow a very set pattern.  Although I will say that of the 5 Poirot novels I’ve now read I was only able to guess the murderer in one story, which is always a good thing.  I’ve also been struck by the fact that in several of the stories that I’ve read, Poirot figures out who the murderer was, but for some reason or other he doesn’t personally arrest them.  Either way, the stories are very interesting and usually surprising, even if the ultimate solution is occasionally hard to figure out before Poirot explains it.

Overall Grade

Like most of the Poirot novels, this one is getting a 7.  If you enjoy mysteries you’d enjoy these books, if mysteries aren’t your favorite they’re still good books but they might not blow you away.

7/10

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. At various times I’ve gone on Agatha Christie binges and really enjoy both Poirot and Miss Marple stories. Literary comfort food, I call them. I’m not sure I’ve read Murder on the Links, so I’ll have to check it out. If you’ve only read five Poirot stories, do they include, “Death on the Nile,” and “Murder on the Orient Express?” Both classics. Also, the Poirot played by David Suchet (sp?) on the PBS Mystery series is exceptional, and they dramatize some of Christie’s best.

    Thanks for the review.

    Reply
    • Murder on the Orient express was the Poirot book that caused me to start reading more of them. I read And Then There Were None years ago, and when I was walking through Barnes & Noble a while ago they had that book on one of their tables for High School assigned reading. I’ve also picked up Death on the Nile a while ago. I was actually a little upset with Death on the Nile because I figured out who the killers were pretty early, but so far that’s the only book where I’ve guessed right ahead of time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

