A Matter of Perspective and The Little Things

We all do stupid things from time to time, I did last night and I was thoroughly embarrassed with myself all morning.  At work this morning a good friend told me some very bad news which really put my little problems into perspective.  I’ve got problems, we all do.  I graduated in May and I’m still looking for a job.  I don’t always get along with my brothers.  I’d like to get a new bowling bag but I don’t have the money to spend on it right now.  I’m watching tv and my remote doesn’t want to work properly all the time.  I’m overweight (even after losing 30 pounds over the summer months this year).

So yeah, I’ve got problems, we all do, but my worst problems aren’t bad at all.  No I don’t have a job, but I also have very understanding parents who know that the job market sucks right now.  I fight with my brothers, but for the most part we stay out of each other’s way.  I want a new bowling bag, but my current one still works just fine.  My tv remote doesn’t want to work, but I don’t watch all that much tv so it really doesn’t bother me that much.  Yes I’m still overweight, but I’ve proven to myself that I can lose weight (and I’ll continue to work on losing more weight in the future) but otherwise I’m pretty healthy.

Ok, so we’ve all seen things like this post saying these things before, and I’m not trying to beat this further into your heads.  So look at everything and try to put it in perspective.  I’m also going to go one further than most of the posts like this.  This idea is shamelessly pilfered from Scott Adams (the guy who draws Dilbert) from his book Stick to Drawing Comics, Monkey Brain!

Forget about all the big stuff, take a minute and list some of the little things that make your day.

  • I love when I’m bowling and I throw a shot that I know is going to strike as soon as I let go of the ball.  I’m a pretty good bowler, and it’s just a wonderful feeling to see the ball really drive into the pocket.
  • I love the smell of bread baking.  Near Akron U (where I went to college) there was a Wonderbread bakery.  I absolutely loved it when it was a nice day and I was walking from one building to the next for another class and you could smell the bread baking.
  • I love it when I’m taking a shower and the water is the perfect temperature when I first turn it on.  There’s no fighting with the taps to get the temperature where it needs to be, it’s just right to begin with.  It’s something very small that makes you feel like you’re in control of your life.
  • I love it when I’m driving and I see a red light turn green just before I get to it.  I might have been sitting at that red light for what, 30 seconds?  Who has that kind of time to waste?
  • I love it when it’s quiet at home and I have a good book and plenty of time to read it.  Can we say 300+ pages in a single sitting?  I think we can.
  • I love finding a new author that I really enjoy.  It means I’m going to be spending a lot of money on books as I buy all of their backlist, but it’s always great.
  • I love it when I catch a movie on tv and it’s at one of my favorite scenes.
  • I love the fact that when you read this list it made you think of something small that makes your day and made you smile.
So there is my rambling for the day as well as my advice.  Take a minute now and then to remind yourself of some of the small things in life that make you smile.  Also take a minute now and then and put your biggest problems in perspective, it’s really easy to get bogged down with everything that is thrown at us on a daily basis.
Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Haha, I get excited when bowling when I manage to not to get a gutter ball!

    Reply
  2. hannahrose42

     /  November 14, 2011

    I thought of a few things while reading this, but the one I’d like to point out is that somedays, when the wind is blowing just right, campus smells like the Nestlé factory. It’s the most wonderful thing going outside and it smells like chocolate. I do know what you mean about baking bread — I work in a store that does bakery every morning, and it’s such a nice thing to wake up to when you go to work.

    Reply
    • The bread was a good enough smell, the smell of the Nestle factory might just rival it though.

      Reply
  3. Thanks for the reminder that I should appreciate the little things. I think too often, a lot of us get bogged down with the big picture and forget the little picture.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for this! I’m dealing with post-graduation woes as well, so I know just how you feel. It’s so hard to keep it in perspective and remember how good we really have it when things aren’t going the way we thought they would after college. It’s so nice to remember that there are lots of things to be happy about 🙂

    Reply
  5. Thank you for this wonderful reminder to be thankful (especially this week). I like when I discover a new author too. And I really like spending holidays surrounded by family. Oh, and the first smile in the morning from Gage 🙂 I could go on, but I have a limited amount of time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

