Tell All

Time for another review of a Chuck Palahniuk book.  I’ve said in every review for his books that they are among the strangest story ideas that I’ve ever read, and this one is no exception.

Book Stats

179 Pages

Drama

Stand Alone

Characters

The book is written in a pseudo-screenplay style, with the main perspective character being Hazie Coogan.  Hazie is a personal assistant/manager for Katherine “Miss Kathie” Kenton, who is a famous actress.  Neither of those characters interested me greatly, as Katherine was horribly shallow and Hazie did everything from the background.  The last main character to the storyline was Webster Carlton Westward III, who was also really irritating in this book.  There was a lot of idiot plotting to make this story work, and it really bothered me.

Setting

New York in the early 20th century.

Plot

I’ll just sum up the blurb on the back of the book for this part.  Katherine finds a book being written by Webster which details their life together, a tell all (hence the book title) of their time together with all the details that she would never want to get out.  However, this version is different from many of the other similar books being written as this one already has the ending written out, with Katherine tragically dying.

Enjoyment

Ok, this book gave me a headache to read at times.  It wasn’t nearly as bad as Pygmy, but it was still annoying.  First off, the pseudo-screenplay aspect was irritating as the narrator constantly described how different shots would be set up and how it relates to the overall narrative she is trying to tell.  It got on my nerves as the book went on.  Also, the narrator has a tendency to name drop people that she knows throughout the book.  Pretty much every time a proper name appears in the book its in bold type font which also got really annoying by the end.  The book also spent way too long (for my taste) in the setup.  The biggest redeeming factor about this book was the ending.  The ending had a well done plot twist that worked really well.  Unfortunately, getting to the plot twist is way too much trouble.

Overall Grade

The quality of the ending isn’t worth the trouble it takes to get there.  I can’t recommend this book very highly.

3/10

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. hannahrose42

     /  November 14, 2011

    Thank goodness I didn’t buy it today! I was shopping on amazon, and thought I’d treat myself to a book. I have heard Pygmy isn’t great, but it’s still next on my Palahniuk to-read list, because I brought it to school.

    Reply
  2. I don’t think I want to read any book that gave you a headache.

    Reply
  3. I couldn’t find a general area to post comments, so I hope this OT of mine is OK. I was just wondering if you had ever considered critiquing a children’s book? Upper-middle grade (just before young adult), genre fiction? You posted on my blog yesterday but I didn’t know if you realized I write for kids?

    Anyway, I’ll certainly check back on your reviews, since I DO like READING adult fiction at least, especially the genres you represent. Thanks for this!

    Reply
    • I don’t usually read a lot of children’s books, but sure, I’d be willing to take a look at something if you want my opinion on a piece.

      Reply
  4. A headache inducing book? Thanks for the warning – I’ll give it a miss.

    Reply
  5. This book is not for me…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

