Self control? Not when it comes to books.

If you follow my blog at all, you know I read all the time.  I also read actual books, I have an e-reader, but it’s currently collecting dust because I love real books too much.  Also, as much as I like Amazon and the convenience of buying books there, I still buy most of my books from my local Barnes & Noble, and they keep roping me in to buying more books.

I have a member card to Barnes & Noble and have had it for probably 7 or 8 years now.  I spend enough on books every year that I end up easily saving money even after the $25 per year that the membership costs (it’s nothing for me to go there at least once a month and spend $100 on books).

A couple of days ago they sent me several coupons for 20% off a single item (in addition to my member 10% off) so of course I had to go and buy some books today.  I generally go there with a few books that I’m looking for, but then I also just go through the bookshelves looking for other books that sound interesting or that I’ve heard of in one place or another.

While wandering through the shelves today, I found a couple of books that I hadn’t planned on buying.  The first book was I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak.  The only book that I’ve read by Zusak was The Book Thief, but it was an absolutely brilliant book and I was thrilled to find another book of his, I’m really looking forward to reading it eventually.

The other book that I picked up today that I hadn’t planned on was Variant by Robison Wells.  I heard of this book through the Writing Excuses podcast in large part because the author is the brother of Dan Wells, who wrote the John Cleaver trilogy (I am Not a Serial Killer, Mr. Monster, I Don’t Want to Kill You, all excellent books).  The premise of the books sounds interesting, and I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

That’s why I love wandering through bookstores, because I almost always find at least one book that I hadn’t planned on buying that catches my eye.

I’ve probably said a lot of this in posts before, but it might be a couple of days before I finish reading Monster Hunter Alpha (since I’m also still playing Oblivion) and I didn’t want to go too long without posting again.

So what are some of the books you’ve purchased recently?  Did you plan on buying them or did they simply catch your eye wandering through a bookstore?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Fraid I no longer shop much at the local B&N. They’ve made several changes that turned me off (like cutting the mystery section in half), plus it’s in a fairly busy shopping center where I will try not to go until mid January.

    I’m reading a self-published, ebook YA fantasy by an author I knew here, who moved to Arizona this year. I expect to review the story on my blog in a bit. I’m also reading several non-fiction ebooks I heard about on NPR and other sources.

    I do remember the pleasures of browsing a comfortable bookstore and making neat discoveries. It just doesn’t happen too often lately.

    Reply
  2. beckyday6

     /  December 1, 2011

    I’m a very compulsive book buyer, I find it nearly impossible to leave a bookstore without buying at least one book. Its, a bad habit for my piggy bank, but I don’t have any intention of trying to cure it!

    Reply
    • hannahrose42

       /  December 1, 2011

      I have this problem, too. If I’m anywhere near a book shop, I will walk away with at least one book, more likely two or three. It’s the only thing I spend my money on, though, so I don’t feel too bad.

      Reply
  3. hannahrose42

     /  December 1, 2011

    I ordered the fourth book in the series I reread over Thanksgiving break, which was The Mortal Instruments. I also ordered the first book of the prequel series (Clockwork Angel).
    I was wandering around Barnes and Noble (on hour number 2) and I found a bunch of books that I wanted, and settled on Skyship Academy: The Pearl Wars by Nick James. I really liked the cover and thought it looked pretty interesting.
    Also, I just got a free book from goodreads, so I’ll probably try to read that first. It might not be a success though, because I’ve been waiting for the fourth book in that series for a long time.

    Reply
  4. I’ll have to buy Zusak’s other book at some point. I recently bought the The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest – the 3rd in the trilogy by Stieg Larsson starting with The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I had just finished the 2nd book and it ended on a huge cliffhanger. I know there is someone I could have borrowed the book from in a week or two, but I just couldn’t wait.

    Reply
    • That’s one of the annoying things about series sometimes. You finish one book, and you really want to start the next one, but you don’t have it so you have to go buy the next one (or borrow it from someone). Or there is the worst case scenario, the next book in the series isn’t out yet and you have to wait for it. Some of the best examples I can think of that end with a cliffhanger for the second book are the Mistborn trilogy and the Hunger Games trilogy. Fortunately for both of those I didn’t have to wait for the next book after I finished the second book.

      I’m about 2/3 of the way through I Am The Messenger right now, and it’s absolutely brilliant. So far I think it’s even better than The Book Thief, but we’ll have to see how it ends.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

