The New Year

There are many things to be said about the new year.  I’ve heard quite a few different opinions about it, ranging from “the new year is a new start” to “why should I celebrate an arbitrarily selected change in the calendar?”  I’m one of those people who generally falls into the later group.  I’ve made an effort in the past to not even know where I was or what I was doing when midnight hit.

I’m not going to give you a resolution because I haven’t made one.  There are two simple things that I’m going to say.  The first is my own words.  I hope that wherever you were tonight, that you got home safely and that nothing bad befell you or anyone you care for.

The second is a proverb.  I don’t know where this comes from, I don’t know where I heard it, and I’m sure that the words I’m using are not the original words.  Either way, it is probably the most fitting thing that I can say for the new year.

May the worst day of your future be better than the best day of your past.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nice proverb, Adam. I don’t have much use for resolutions either. I do find it useful to try to form habits, sneaking up on them when necessary. Like yard work, something I have a mental block about, but is usually satisfying when I actually do it. So I’m going to try to get in the habit of doing 30 min or so a day on most days of decent weather and see how that works.

    I hope your New Year brings you much satisfaction.

    Reply

Leave a comment