Royal Assassin

I know that 4 days without posting isn’t really that long of a time, but I still feel like I should be posting more often.  The biggest problem with that is that when I’m reading a book that’s almost 700 pages, it’s going to take me a few days to finish, even if I’m not doing a whole lot else at any given time.  Either way, I’m back with my review for Royal Assassin, the second book in Robin Hobb’s Farseer trilogy.

Book Stats

675 pages

Fantasy

Sequel to Assassin’s Apprentice

Characters

This book, like the first book, is told from the point of view of FitzChivalry Farseer, the bastard grandson of King Shrewd.  I was really annoyed with Fitz for a decent part of the book, although that was partially intended by the way the book was written.  Fitz has spent his entire life listening to his superiors give him orders, so that when he starts to see a conspiracy that no one else is aware of, he is constantly rebuked for trying to do anything to stop it.  I would have preferred that he just start taking action (which he does towards the end of the book) but he falls back upon listening to his elders.  Another character that I enjoyed in this book was the King’s Fool.  He is strange and mysterious, yet he seems to know more of what is going on in the world than everyone else.  The Fool was a fun character to read about throughout the course of the book.

Setting

The Six Duchies, much like the first book.  Although this book also has Fitz serving on a warship as well to fight the Red-Ship Raiders.

Plot

The plot deals with the continuing fight between the Six Duchies and the Red-Ship Raiders.  But while Verity is doing his best to fight them, he is constantly undermined by Regal’s actions.  After another summer of fighting off the Raiders, Verity decides that he must undertake a quest to find the Elderlings who legend says helped the kingdom years ago.  While Verity leaves, Fitz does everything he can to fight Regal’s grasp for power as well as to protect Shrewd and Kettricken.

Enjoyment

This book started out very slow to me, and for the first 150 pages or so it was hard to get into.  However, as the book continued Fitz started to act on his own rather than simply reacting to what everyone else wanted him to do.  Another thing that I liked a lot more in this book was the exploration of the magic.  Both the Skill and the Wit that Fitz is capable of using are explored more in this book, and it was interesting to see how they were used to help Fitz survive the very dangerous game he is playing.

Overall Grade

I enjoyed the ending of the book, but the beginning was very slow.  Either way, I’m looking forward to the conclusion of the series.

7/10

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I find your pace of reading and reviewing incredibly ambitious, Adam, so I can hardly fault you for sloth for a four day gap! I’d suggest you take time off when you need to. I find your reviews very valuable, so please don’t overdo it and tire yourself out!

    Reply
  2. I love the cover. I haven’t heard of this series. Good for you for sticking through the first 150 pages!

    Reply
  3. hannahrose42

     /  February 9, 2012

    Someone recommended these books to me… I hear they’re quite good. I’ll have to add them to my list and look forward to your review of the next book!

    Also… I’m not reading massive books, and can still barely motivate myself to read and review as much as you do. Darn college classes taking up my time…

    Reply
    • I agree, college courses take up far too much time. Although even taking classes I was still able to go through The Wheel of Time books at about a book a week during the semester. Reading is how I relax, I don’t watch TV much anymore, so most of my free time is spent reading.

      Reply
      • hannahrose42

         /  February 10, 2012

        I just need to dedicate more time to reading. I don’t even have a cable cord in my television, so I know what you mean about not watching Tv. It is really because I have to read books for class, so I feel guilty reading for fun. I’m trying to move past that.

Leave a Reply

