February 2012 Month in Review

Time for another month in review post.  I was a little slow posting this month, but that’s in large part because I was reading some larger books.  I only read 7 books this past month (as opposed to 10 in January plus 2 from Christmas to the end of December which were included in last month’s wrap up) but I actually read more in terms of pages this month than last.

January’s page count ended up being 3029, whereas February I ended up with 3262 (and that’s not counting the 300+ pages of The Child Thief that I’ve gotten through after starting the book yesterday, I should finish it tomorrow which means I’ll put it into the March wrapup).

Overall, this month wasn’t quite as good as January,  only one book that I rated a 9 and one other book that I rated an 8.  I still enjoyed the majority of the books that I read this month, but I also ended up giving my first 3/10 and 4/10 ratings for the year.  Anyway on to the full list of books that I finished this past month.

I’m also going to try something a little different for this next month and ask if there are any books that you’d like to see reviews for.  I’m reading The Child Thief now and the next book I’m going to read is Partials by Dan Wells, after that, I think I’ll take a vote for what I should read next off of My Book List.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’d love to see what you think of Divergant. It’s a book that keeps poping up on blogs that I’m undecided whether to bother reading or not. The same goes for Beetles of Bard.
    Also Trudi Canavan’s The Magicians Guild is a great book, look forward to seeing what you think of it 🙂

    Reply
    • I’ve heard a lot of good things about Divergent, and I’ve planned on getting it for some time now, I just wanted to wait until it was in paperback rather than having to spend twice as much for the hardcover. I just flipped through The Tales of Beedle the Bard and I should be able to knock that out in an afternoon (it’s just a few short stories).

      I’ll move those to the top of the TBR pile.

      Reply
      • Cool thanks, tis much appriciated. 🙂 Ah, don’t blame you about the hardback issue, the price difference can be completely rediculous sometimes!

  2. hannahrose42

     /  February 29, 2012

    I would love to see what you think of Ender’s Shadow — I’ve only ever read Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead, so I don’t really know how the other books are. Also, it would be interesting to see what you think of And Another Thing… I am a big fan of Eoin Colfer and of the Hitchhikers’ series, and it was interesting to end the series on that book, so I’d like to know what you think of it.
    I’ve been debating whether I should read Divergent or not. It sounds decent, but I am not yet sold on if I want to read it, so I’ll be interested to see what you think of that, too.
    Well, I suppose I should let some other people have their say, as well… Happy reading!

    Reply
    • I’ve had Ender’s Shadow for a long time, it probably wouldn’t be a bad thing to get it off the TBR pile. Maybe I’ll do a reread of Ender’s Game (since I don’t have a review for it on here) and then read Ender’s Shadow and do a comparison between the two books.

      Reply
  3. I haven’t read Christopher Moore yet, but I hear a lot really like his work.

    Reply
  4. Well, since you’ve kind of opened it up for suggestions, I’ll take the opportunity to do a shout-out for some of my very favorite books of all time, as I love taking any opportunity to support these authors and titles.

    The simplest thing is for me just to point you to a post I did a few months ago where I list the books:
    http://josephmkurtenbach.com/2011/10/09/my-favorite-fantasy-novels-that-is/ — in case you’re interested in checking it out. I include a couple of pictures I took of all the book covers of the editions I own of these titles. A quick note: all the books on my list are fantasy and soft science fiction, and all of them are decades old, but I think most if not all of them are still in print.

    I am happy to see Dune on your TBR list, as that is one of my all-time favorites. You’ve probably already read a few of the books on my list, but since they’re all older, maybe you haven’t heard of a few of them or their authors before, and might like them.

    Happy reading!

    Reply
    • I have Dragonflight on my TBR pile, and I’m pretty sure that Dune has been on there longer than any other book that I own.

      The only authors on your list that I haven’t heard of are CJ Cherryh and Patricia A McKillip. Although I haven’t read everything you’ve listed, I’ll look into some of them in the future.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

