A Year of Blogging

Hey I made it through a full year of keeping my blog going!  Well, technically a year and a day, March 11th was the one year anniversary of my first blog post for The Warded Man by Peter V Brett.  So what have I been up to in that time?  Well, to start with I’m up to 123 book reviews on my blog, which is a fairly good pace for reading considering a lot of the books that I’ve read were fairly large.  To do my monthly wrap up posts I’ve started keeping an Excel file with all of the books that I’ve read this year, which also allows me to keep track of my page count which is at just over 9,000 pages since 12/25 of last year.

It’s been fun keeping this blog, I’ve met a lot of interesting people and I’ve been introduced to a lot of books that I probably wouldn’t have picked up had I not heard about them by reading other blogs.

All that said, I’m going to keep blogging as long as I have books to read, and there are quite a few books out there that I haven’t read.  But this is a very self indulgent post, so it’s my turn to ask you guys a few questions.  I always think that there are ways to get better, and that’s all that I’m looking for.

  • What do you think of my structure for my book reviews?  Is it too structured?  Too loose?  Is there something you’d like to see me include when I talk about the books?
  • What do you think about my overall layout?  One of the first things I tried to do in setting up my blog was to give it a fairly clear setup.  How am I doing on that front?
  • I’ve done a couple of random posts in the past about different ideas in books (Learning Curve and Uniqueness and Originality come to mind quickly as examples).  Do you want to see more posts like this?  If so, any ideas as to specific topics you’d like to see me address?
  • When I read a series of books on the blog, I generally do a quick recap of the series after I finish the final book.  Most of the time I do just a few quick thoughts in the post for the final book.  But for the Harry Potter series I did a separate post where I went more in depth about the series as a whole.  Do you prefer the shorter series review in the same post as the last book or the longer separate post for the series review?
  • I’ve seen several other blogs do group reads with discussion for the books involved.  For a while now I’ve been considering re-reading the Mistborn trilogy, would anyone be interested in doing a group read of the first book?  Of the entire trilogy?  (I ask here because I know that I’ve plugged that series on nearly every blog I visit at one point or another.)

Well, I’m off for now (to go read of all things, imagine that).  I’d love to hear any feedback you have, and thanks for stopping by.  I’ve really enjoyed all of the feedback for my posts over the past year and it’s been a lot of fun to do this.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I think the way your blog is set up is great, it’s simple and clear. When I see a blog thats packed full of images and is too confusing I will leave it straight away without even looking at the posts. However, I think you could maybe toggle around with the colour scheme if you wanted a change, the white and grey is nice, but maybe a little boring for someone who own a fabulous book blogs full of vibrant fantasy books if you catch my drift.
    I also think the way you structure your reviews is great because if you don’t want to know anything about the plot, you can skip straight down to enjoyment section.
    I personally am not really a fan of the group reads, but I know a lot of other people are.
    Finally, I love the random posts, and I always like a good discussion, so more of them would definitely be good.
    Congrats on your year of blogging!

    Reply
    • I don’t know if I can change just the colors of the theme I’m currently using, but I’ll play around with it and see if I can. Perhaps I’ll also look into changing to a new blog theme, it would be interesting to change it up after having this one up for the entire time I’ve had the blog up. Thanks for the feedback.

      Reply
  2. I think that Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings is planning on hosting a groupread of at least the first book of the Mistborn trilogy starting sometime around the end of the month. I’m very excited to read it!

    I like your idea of doing a series review. Books in a series sometimes have a tendency to run into each other, and I’ve always had a hard time keeping the reviews for each book separate.

    Reply
    • It does occasionally get tough to separate a single book from the series as a whole. There were several times in the Harry Potter series where I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to write about for the individual book until I started writing the posts. And that was only 7 books, my re-read of The Wheel of Time is going to be interesting. 14 books which are all a lot longer than the average Harry Potter book, it’s going to be interesting to try and find new things to say about every book.

      I think I’ll have to start doing series reviews as separate posts instead of just including them in with the final book.

      I remember you mentioning a Mistborn groupread, but I wasn’t sure when it was going to be, I’ll have to keep an eye out for it.

      Reply
  3. Congratulations, Adam, and I’m glad you’re still going strong, since I enjoy reading your posts. Your layout is appropriate, your review format clear – I think both are working well.

    My one comment is that your pace seems really fast, and I want to encourage you to vary your kinds of posts or take a break now and then for R&R if you need to. Maybe you don’t need but if so, I think you should.

    I’m looking forward to your next 100 posts.

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on a year of blogging, and for being such an astoundingly prolific reader and reviewer! I am personally an astoundingly slow reader, so I would never be able to keep up in a group read, but I would certainly enjoy reading the feedback of those who participate.

    I enjoy your reviews, the way you have them currently set up and your scoring system, but I think any changes you might decide to make would be fine by me as well, since you seem to have good judgment with regard to keeping your posts informative, helpful, and entertaining.

    I also like your idea of doing separate posts to encompass series as a whole. Since my favorite reading is fantasy (and soft science fiction like Pern and Dune), and this is where most of the series are, I say The More The Better. I hope you keep doing the occasional random post about general ideas from books and such, too.

    Looking forward to you keeping up the great work.

    Reply
  5. hannahrose42

     /  March 14, 2012

    I really enjoy the structure of your reviews — though they sometimes spill into each other, it’s an easy way to look for something if I want to know a specific detail about a book. The setup is also done quite well — The Total Score page is incredibly helpful and everything is easy to find.

    I enjoy your random posts and the final end posts of a series. It’s good to get all your thoughts down on an entire series, and I think having it separate will make it more accessible if people don’t want to read about the final book when looking for the series review.

    I’ve never done a group reading, and don’t really know what that entails… I have the Mistborn trilogy here at school, so I would be up for reading them sometime soon if you are interested in pursuing that.

    Reply
  6. Congrats!! New here but as a newbie I can say that your site is laid out well as I’ve been able to find my way around things easily.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

