USBC Open Tournament

So I mentioned during my Dune post that I was going to be away all weekend because I was bowling in the USBC Open bowling tournament.  And since I hate going too long without posting, and I most likely won’t finish Bloodsucking Fiends until tomorrow, I figured I’d talk about my trip.

I’ve mentioned before that I live in Ohio, and the tournament was in Baton Rouge LA.  So to get down there, we drove.  I met up with three of the guys that I bowl with on my summer league and we drove down to Louisiana, and at about 17 hours one way, it’s a pretty long drive.  But it worked out pretty well because we all took different shifts driving so no one had to drive the whole time.

This was the first time I’d been to Louisiana, and I really enjoyed it.  All of the people that we met down there were really nice, and the weather was absolutely beautiful.  We caught a little bit of rain on the drive down, but once we were there it was about as nice as you could ever ask for.

As for the actual bowling, well, I didn’t do quite as well as I would have liked.  The tournament was on a tough shot, and when you combine that with the fact that I made some stupid decisions (both before I went down there in terms of my equipment and in where to play the lanes once I got down there) I didn’t do as well as I would have liked.  But all that said, I shot 1564 for all events (9 games) which works out to a 173 average.  Given the fact that it was a sport shot and I was kind of experimenting with a different drilling on my spare ball (changing something like that just before you go to a major tournament is NOT a good decision, and it’s one that I’ll definitely remember to never make again) I’ll take the 173 average for the trip.  And for what it’s worth, I should cash in both doubles and singles, which means I’ll get a little bit of money back from the trip.

All said, I had a great time on the trip, it was a great experience and I’m really glad that I went.  I’m also looking forward to going back to the tournament in the near future, maybe not next year, but I think I’m definitely going to try and go back in 2014 when it’s in Reno NV.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That is really cool! I’m sorry it didn’t all turn out as well as you would have hoped, but as a man who just bowled again last month for the first time in 15 years, 173 average sounds amazing. And I’m glad that you had fun regardless.

    Reply
  2. hannahrose42

     /  June 8, 2012

    Ahhh, that happened to me at state bowling as well. I started throwing my hook a little differently, and it was a poor choice at state.

    Reply
    • I can’t complain too much, I had a really good time on the trip despite bowling poorly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

