June 2012 Month in Review

So last month I talked about how the weather in Ohio was staring to get a little nicer, now I can talk about how the past several days have been really hot.  That’s the problem with Ohio weather, you have about 5 nice days a year, 3 in the Spring and another 2 in the Fall.  Other than that it’s just kind of crappy all year.

Anyway, on to the books I read this month.  Although I read 9 books this month, I’m a little upset that I didn’t break 3,000 pages, I hit 2,972.  Although part of that was from reading The Malloreon by Eddings.  I bought the series in the two volume collection, and the books are trade paperback size which means that overall there are less pages per book.  For example, in my edition, the first book – Guardians of the West, was 273 pages.  Amazon lists the hardcover edition of that book at 454 pages and the mass market paperback at 448 pages.  So if I adjusted my page count for the year to go by those editions, it would probably put me up to about 3,700 pages this month.  But I’m not going to do that, so we’ll leave it as it is.

(That was actually a really good guess.  Being kind of obsessive about this sort of thing, I checked the paperback page counts against my page counts.  The paperback copies would have added 734 pages, which would have put me at 3,706.)

So anyway, on with the recap of books I reviewed this month:

When I order the books with links for these posts, I put them in alphabetical order by author’s last name, and then for a series I list the books in the order of the series.  Oddly enough, that’s the order that I read the books in this month.  Strange coincidence I suppose.

So at the end of these posts I’ve typically been asking a question of those who read it, but this time I’m going to put in a little bit of blog news.  Probably 2/3 of my posts in this blog have been book reviews.  And while that is still going to be the primary purpose of my blog, I’m going to expand the scope of my media discussions a little bit.  I’m going to start going through some more movies and TV shows and discussing those on my blog as well.  I just recently started watching Joss Whedon’s Firefly and thus far I love it.  I started writing down my thoughts after each episode and in the coming weeks I’ll be doing a series of posts where I talk about the show.  After I finish up with Firefly (and Serenity) I’ll pick another show and go from there, it should be fun.

On that note, I’m off to start reading The Fall of Hyperion.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. you’re probably melting in Ohio this week. I’m up in Michigan and it’s even stupid hot up here. what I wouldn’t give for a few days straight of rain!

    Reply
    • But that doesn’t really help that much because then it gets really humid and is probably worse after it rains. For now I’ll just keep my unemployed summer sleep schedule of being up most of the night and asleep for half of the day, that seems to be helping out quite a bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

