Campbell in Progress

It’s been about a week since my last post, and I really hate going this long without posting anything.  But to be fair I was working all weekend, and then I had my sport bowling league last night.  To go along with this I’ve been reading The Hero of a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell.

This is a book that a lot of people are familiar with, even if you haven’t read it.  In many ways this book is a foundational book to all of genre fiction, since it’s looking at a lot of the common archetypes that have arisen in stories throughout all of human history.  It’s an interesting book, and I’m slowly working my way through it.  I should finish the book in the next couple of days, so my full review will be up then.  This post is really here just because I think I’ve gone too long without a post and I felt like posting today.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I hope the bowling went well and hope the Campbell is working for you. It is a book I own and have been meaning to read forever for the very reasons you mention. Look forward to your thoughts when you are done.

    Reply
  2. It’s a classic study. Gained some following when George Lucas revealed that the first Star Wars trilogy was structured very closely along the lines of Campbell’s hero’s journey. I’ll be interested to read your review.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

