Midweek Update

Right now I’m about halfway through Blackout by Mira Grant, which is the third novel in her Newsflesh trilogy after Feed and Deadline.  I’m really enjoying the book, which is why it’s kind of surprising that I haven’t finished it already.  Don’t worry, there’s a good reason for that.

I have a job now.

While I didn’t mention it often, those who have followed my blog for a while know that I graduated from college in May of ’11 with my B.A. in Psychology, and I’ve spent the time since then working part time in a bowling alley and looking for a full time job.  So of course when I finally get a full time job it’s one that has absolutely nothing to do with Psychology.  I’m currently working in a warehouse for a distributor of bowling products, which right now is about as close as it gets to a dream job for me.

Along with the fact that I’m now working 40 hours a week (or I will be from now on, this is still my first week there) I’m also going to keep working a couple of nights a week at the bowling alley, and I’m also bowling on 3 leagues every week plus a fourth league that bowls every other week.  In short, I’m going to be busy.

I’ll still have some time to read though.  Right now I’ve been eating breakfast before I go to work, and then with a small snack during lunch I’m ok until I get home, which means I’ve been using my lunch hour to read, along with reading some once I get home from work.

My book reviews have been the primary focus of this blog since I started it about a year and a half ago, and they’ll still be a big part, but it’s going to be a little more difficult to keep up my current pace of reading for the foreseeable future.  I’ll still try to post 2-3 times a week about various things, and I’m still very much intending to keep my Wheel of Time re-read at the brisk pace of a book a week until A Memory of Light comes out, but my reviews will be a little fewer.

I just wanted to explain why I haven’t been around quite as much for the past few days.  It’s been an adjustment getting back to working full time, but I’ve been glad to do so.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Congrats on the job! 😀

    Reply
  2. Well done. Hope everything goes well for you and you soon find a good work/life balance.
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

