August 2012 Month in Review

Another month has come and gone, and now I get to do another post about what books I read this past month.  Sadly, for the second time in 3 months I didn’t hit 3,000 pages.  There were two main problems with trying to hit 3,000 pages this month, the first was that The Hero with a Thousand Faces took me  about a week to read, and the second and more important reason is that I got a full-time job a couple of weeks ago.  I’m still reading as much as I can, but my reading is mostly left to my lunch breaks at work, a little time once I get home, and then weekends.

My semi-stated reading goal for the year was to average about 100 pages a day during the course of the year.  Thus far I’m up to about 27,000 pages for the year, which puts me well ahead of the 100 page a day average, and gives me a lot of buffer for the upcoming months where I’ll be working and bowling a lot more for the rest of the year.

So anyway, on to the books I read this month:

So for the second time in the history of my blog, I have a book that I didn’t fit into the standard rating system.  I didn’t want to give God’s Debris a simple number score like I did with the rest of the books I’ve reviewed, so I’m leaving it as an N/A for the rating.

I’m reading On A Pale Horse by Piers Anthony right now, and I’ve got about 75 pages left in the book, so expect a review for it tomorrow.  Otherwise, I was at work all day and then bowling tonight, so I’m going to bed.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Your reviews are so interesting and prolific, you don’t have to apologize to yourself or anyone else if your quota changes because of a full time job! Congratulations, btw. I hope it’s a good fit.

    Reply
  2. hannahrose42

     /  September 4, 2012

    Once I got back to school, I struggled reading at all, so I empathize. I’m just getting back into reading — I had four books going at once over summer, so now I’m just attempting to finish them all. Good luck on your new job… and good luck keeping up on the reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

