The Eye of the World – Part 1

And thusly we begin my series of posts regarding The Wheel of Time, and it starts where the series starts, with The Eye of the World.  All of my thoughts on these books were written in the process of reading them, and I’ll break each book down into 2 or 3 sections.  Anyway, off we go.

When I first read this series, I bought only the first book.  What was the point of buying several books in the series if I didn’t like the first one?  After I read the first 5 or 6 chapters of the first book, I went out and bought the next 5 books in the series, and reading it this time through reminded me why.

The book starts out fairly slowly, with Rand and Tam walking towards Emond’s Field bringing supplies for Bel Tine, a yearly festival celebrated in early spring.  From the very beginning of the book you can tell there is tension because Rand is walking around with a bow half drawn.  But while there is tension early on in the book, the learning curve is not so steep that you can’t follow it.  The beginning is very well paced, and by having the main character be a young adult (I believe Rand is 18 or 19 at this point in the story) you have someone who can explain some everyday things in the world because he is now thinking about them from the perspective of an adult, rather than as a child.  Another excellent thing that this book does is to quickly get them away from their comfort zone. Within the first 10 chapters there is an attack by creatures that were supposedly nothing more than legends.  This also leads to the characters having to leave their familiar hometown and explore the larger world.

Even from the very beginning of the story, there is a lot going on in this book, and Jordan does an excellent job of introducing a lot of conflict while not burying you with the worldbuilding.  The quality of writing in this series is very high, and it shows up from the opening chapters.

Wheel of Time homepage

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’m going to also be reading and blogging a WoT reread starting next month.

    Reply
  2. Terri

     /  October 15, 2012

    I’ve tried to start Eye of the World two or three times but have never been able to get into it. Maybe I’ll try again and take it in sections like this.

    Reply
    • The very beginning of The Eye of the World is kind of slow. If you’re really interested in reading the series, consider starting with the prequel novel New Spring. It was released between books 10 and 11, but you can read it before the original novels without spoiling too much. It has a faster pace than The Eye of the World and is probably a better introduction to the series overall.

      Reply
  3. I started this in December as part of a read along. I also like how Jordan builds the world for me, by showing me through the characters and not everything all at once.

    Reply
    • Rand is the only viewpoint for most of the first book, and that’s good because too many other characters and you’d get lost far too easily. I’d love to hear any comments that you have to the rest of my posts in the series as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

