Housekeeping

It’s past time to do a little bit of housekeeping for the blog, so hopefully I’ll get most of that settled with post.

So the first thing obviously has been my lack of an online presence.  I’ve said before that it’s for two reasons, the first is that I’m still reading The Wheel of Time (as of writing this I have about 100 pages left in book 13, I’ll probably start book 14 this weekend).  These are all huge books, and they’re taking me a while to get through.  The second is because I still haven’t made myself find some time to fit my blog into my now much busier schedule.  I’m almost done with The Wheel of Time, and I think I’m going to start reading some smaller books after reading the most massive book series I’ve ever seen.  And for the second, I’ll just have to make more time, maybe I’ll start setting up a schedule to blog on certain days every week.  I’ve enjoyed all of the conversations that have come from blogging, and I’m definitely going to continue it.

And now for the second item of housekeeping, today is the 2 year anniversary of my blog.  Yep, two years ago today I started my blog with a review of Peter V. Brett’s book The Warded Man.  From those humble beginnings of having one review up, my blog has gone on strong with reviews for somewhere around 180-190 books, along with another 150ish posts about whatever I felt like rambling on about on that given day.

liebster-award2So what am I going to do to celebrate my two year blogiversary?  (Is that even a word?  It should be.)  I’m going to answer a series of questions posed to me by Terri over at Starlight Book Reviews.  Why those questions specifically, because Terri gave me the Liebster Award.  So without any further ado, here we go with the questions.

(Also, I’m going against the rules of the Liebster award, mostly because at the moment I don’t have time to go through and search for 11 other blogs, if you’re looking for more blogs to read I highly suggest any of the blogs listed in my links on the left hand sidebar, as well as any of the fine commenters who have stopped by my blog in the past.)

  • 1. Describe a piece of art that moved you. – It depends largely upon what you specifically mean by a piece of art?  Are we talking about only visual art?  Or are we including all art forms?  I’m going to assume that we’re including all art forms.  So for my piece of art that moved me, I’m going to talk about the movie The Shawshank Redemption.  This is easily my favorite movie and I consider it to be the best movie ever made.  It’s moving in large part because it takes it’s time.  You feel like you really know the characters, and then when something happens to them it feels like it’s happening to a friend.  The first time I watched the movie I cried like a baby in the middle of the movie with Brooks (not spoiling what happened) and then again at the end of the movie.  In every way it’s a perfect movie, and I’ve watched it at least 10 times and it’s always perfect.
  • 2. What is your favorite book? – Favorite book is a hard question, for one because how do you measure it?  If you’re looking about just how good a book is, I’ve given a 10/10 to about 20 of the books that I’ve read while I’ve had my blog.  I’m going to slightly sidestep this question and simply say that my two favorite book series are the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson, and The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan (and finished by Brandon Sanderson).  They’re both wonderful series that I’ve read multiple times and will read again in the future.
  • 3. Why do you blog? – I started to blog because I wanted to have a place to talk about the books that I read.  It’s kind of hard to find people who live around me who read a lot and who also like the same kinds of books that I like.  Starting this blog has given me an opportunity to find many of those people as well as meet a lot of other interesting people with different interests.
  • 4. Do you have one best friend or a “tier” of best friends?  How did you meet them? – I would say I have a group of best friends, and the way I met all of them is simple, I met them through bowling. Prior to bowling with them on leagues, I didn’t know any of my teammates from the 4 leagues that I bowl on, or the people that I’m traveling down to the USBC National tournament in Reno with.  Now I consider them all to be very good friends.
  • 5. Who is your favorite band or musical artist and why? – Probably Barenaked Ladies.  I like them for several reasons.  For one, they’re very skilled musicians.  I don’t care for bands who have to go through so much post-production to get them to sound good that when you hear a live performance of them it doesn’t even sound like the same song.  Secondly, they have a wide variety of music so it doesn’t sound like you’re listening to the same song every time you hear them.
  • 6. Where is “home” for you? – The obvious answer is where I live in Ohio.  But I’m going to come up with a different definition.  I’m going to define “home” as wherever you’re most comfortable.  And for me that’s anywhere that I can sit down with a good book and several hours to tear through a couple hundred pages.
  • 7. What’s your favorite movie? – Hmm, maybe I should have looked through the rest of the questions before I started writing out my answers.  Oh well, see question number 1 for the answer to this.  But since it’s a different question, I’ll just throw out a couple of my other favorite movies.  Pan’s Labyrinth is amazing, a wonderful story told in a unique way.  Mirrormask is a very original movie, well over 2/3 of the movie was made with a green screen and they had quite a few different people working on the different scenes, it’s a visual treat to watch.  I’m also going to throw out a few anime movies, Perfect Blue is a great psychological thriller, Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind is an amazing movie, Howl’s Moving Castle is another movie that I love as well.  So there you go, a few of the movies that I’ll watch any time I don’t have anything else to do.
  • 8. If you could go anywhere on vacation for a week, all expenses paid, where would you go and why? – Probably Rome, or just traveling across Europe in general.  I would love to see all of the ancient architecture, there’s just something special about many of the structures that the Greeks and Romans made and I’ve always been interested in ancient Greek and Roman culture.
  • 9. What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever done? – This one I’m going to break into two parts, the first was when I stopped going to college after attending classes for 3 1/2 years.  My last semester before I stopped going I only took 2 classes which totaled 5 credit hours, I wasn’t even considered a part time student.  The only reason I took those two classes is because I was afraid that if I stopped completely I wouldn’t go back at all, but I had no idea what I wanted to study, so I was just wasting my time and money.  After that last semester I took a year and a half off from school, and here is the second part, going back to school.  It was very strange to go back back to school after taking that much time off.  Especially when I started back into freshman level courses.  Although she never directly mentioned it, I’m fairly certain that I was older than my Introduction to Psychology professor (she was a grad-student).  I’m not using my degree at the moment, but even without using it I’m glad that I took the time to go back and get it.
  • 10. Have you ever been in love? – Yes, I would say twice, unfortunately neither ended as well as I could have hoped for, some odd circumstances and many bad decisions by myself as well as my girlfriends.
  • 11.  How do you feel about “The Big Bang Theory”?  (The television show, not the origin theory of the universe) – I’m a nerd, but I’ve never watched the show.  I’ve heard a lot of people say that it’s a really funny show, but I’ve also heard several people say that the show is more laughing “at” the nerds as opposed to laughing “with” the nerds.  Parts of it sound interesting, but I’ve got too much other media that I have to go through before I could even start watching Big Bang Theory.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your blogiversary. I figure that if millions of people can say “blogoshere” without rolling their eyes, all ordinary rules of English grammar are now provisional. I enjoy reviews and I’m glad you are planning to continue.

    Reply
  2. hannahrose42

     /  March 13, 2013

    I must say, I approve of your movie selection! Shawshank Redemption has been in my top three movies for many years, and I enjoy it every time I see it. I also loved Pan’s Labyrinth, Mirrormask, and all the anime movies you listed (besides Perfect Blue, which I have yet to see).
    Note on the Big Bang Theory: I have many nerdy friends who love the show, but I have seen a few episodes and think it’s nothing special. It always feels too forced to me; actors acting nerdy rather than nerds just doing their thing. I just think I enjoy nerdy actors portraying well-rounded, interesting characters than nerdy (or not-so-nerdy) actors portraying nerds. That’s just not fun for me.
    I celebrated the first completed year of blogging back in October, and it has always been fun to look back on the books that I’ve read. Hopefully you have many more years of book blogging in your future, and that you never lose interest in reading and sharing about the experiences it brings you.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations.
    The Shawshank is a brilliant movie
    I completely agree with No.3
    No.6 is a lovely answer.
    Pan’s Labyrinth must be one of my favourite movies, plus Howl’s Moving Castle.
    Rome is absolutely amazing and if you get the chance to go you should – not to mention Florence and Sienna.
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

