Dave Barry’s History of the Millennium (So Far)

So about a week ago I finished reading Dave Barry’s History of the Millenium (So Far) and I quite enjoyed it.  But I was busy bowling 7 of the past 8 days, including a trip out of town for the Ohio State Bowling Tournament, so I haven’t gotten around to writing up my thoughts for it yet, so here we go.

Book StatsHistory of the Millennium

236 pages

Satire

Enjoyment

The book covers the years from 2000 to 2007 with the exception of 2001.  I gave my thoughts about skipping 2001 because of the events of 9/11 in my last post, so I won’t repeat myself and talk about it again.

I like Barry’s writing, and his way of looking back on the events of the years he covers is uniquely his own.  But the best part of this book is reading about all of the stupid things that we all thought were immensely important at the time.  Some of the things that he talked about include:

  • The presidential election of 2000 with all of the nonsense of the hanging chad’s and the constant recounting of the votes in Florida.
  • Elian Gonzalez, the 6 year old cuban kid who was the source of a constant custody battle that somehow caught the attention of the country (and annoyed me even then).
  • Martha Stewart getting in trouble with the SEC (not the college conference) and ultimately going to jail.
  • The rise of “reality” TV shows, which are very popular despite the fact that no one admitted to watching them.
  • Ron Artest running into the stands during a Pacers/Pistons game and getting suspended for the year.
  • The start of the steroid questions in baseball, including the huge senate hearing with several major leaguers who all most likely cheated.
  • Hurricane Katrina and all of the ineptitude that followed the early days of the recovery.
  • Dick Cheney shooting the attorney that he was hunting with.
  • Steve Irwin – better known as the Crocodile Hunter – dying while recording his show.

It was interesting to see what was in our minds over the course of the first 7 years of the new Millennium, I actually wouldn’t mind seeing a newer collection with the years since 2007, so I’ll keep an eye out for it.

Overall Grade

A funny book and a very interesting look back at the early 2000’s.

7/10

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

