Thanksgiving

I’ve said things like this before, but I don’t believe I’ve ever made it a post on it’s own.  Every year at Thanksgiving people often come up with big lists of things that they’re thankful for.  And every year people always list the biggest things they can come up with, health, a loving family, a stable job in uncertain times, and so on.  But I want to take a different approach to it.

Rather than focusing on all the big things, take a minute to think about all the little things that make you smile any time they happen.

  • I love it when I’m bowling and I throw a ball that I know is going to be a strike as soon as I let go of it.
  • I love the smell of baking bread.  There was a Wonderbread factory on Akron U’s campus when I was attending classes there, and days when you could smell the bread baking while walking between classes always made me smile.
  • I love when I’m driving somewhere and a red light turns to green just before I get to it, it makes me feel like I beat the system by showing up at the perfect time so I never have to slow down my car.
  • I love having a tall cup of hot tea, a good book to read, and several hours to curl up under a blanket enjoying both.  It doesn’t happen as often as I’d like, but it’s wonderful when it does.
  • I really enjoy driving the forklift at work, I have no idea why, but it always puts me in a good mood.
  • And as always, I love the fact that reading this list will remind you of the small pleasures in your life, and that when you think of one you’ll smile.

Thanks for reading and enjoy your Thanksgiving day.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Very nice list, Adam, thanks. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

