Violence in Schools

This post is here as much for me as for anyone else who reads it.  I’ve had a few posts before where I’ve talked about school shootings, or mass murders in general in the USA, so it’s been a bit of a recurring theme on my blog.

Today while browsing through the Freshly Pressed posts on WordPress, I came across this post and it really intrigued me:

Circumstantially Newsworthy

This is a really interesting take on the entire issue of violence in schools and the level of violence in our country as a whole.

On a semi-related note, there’s something that I heard the other day that I’m going to relate to this, and it’s something else that bugs me.  I was talking with a friend about the movie coming out depicting Walt Disney’s life.  Apparently Walt was someone who constantly smoked, but there is some outcry that any movie showing someone smoking should automatically receive an R rating (hey, I even found an article on CNN.com talking about it: Should Smoking Trigger an R Rating?)

So here’s my comment.  Smoking should automatically trigger an R rating, what about violence?  A quick check of a couple of James Bond movies shows that some of those were rated either PG-13 or just PG.  On top of that, how many TV shows depict murder on a daily basis, some of them going far enough to show the act of one person killing another.

There are no easy answers to the questions of how to deal with the problems we have in society.  But as the post I linked to illustrates clearly, the level of apathy that most of us have towards the problem means that it’s not going to change any time soon.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Good post, Adam, and superb new look for your blog. I like it a lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

