The New Year

Another year has passed, and once again I sit at my computer trying to think of something creative to say for a New Years Day blog post.  Even saying that is slightly wrong, since it’s almost 9 at night, so it’s not really any kind of a “day” blog post.  But I suppose that’s just my bad sense of humor kicking in to the post, so we move on.

One of the first things that everyone talks about when it comes to New Years is the idea of a resolution.  If you’re really trying to better yourself, the changing of the calendar year is as good a reason as any to start doing it.  If you’re thinking of one, do it the right way and give it some thought for a week or two before you really plan to start it.  There are a couple of things you can do to help achieve your goal; break it down into steps, reward yourself for completing each step, don’t panic and give up if you backtrack a little, and tell other people so that you have support in your goal.  There are a couple of things that I want to do in the coming year, and perhaps in a week or two when I’ve outlined everything better I’ll do a post about it here.

All that said, I hope that you enjoyed the new year however you decided to spend it’s arrival, I hope that you and all of your loved ones were safe after whatever partying they did last night, and I hope that you have something to look forward to in the coming year.

So much as I did last year, in a post with the exact same title, I leave you with an old Irish blessing, or proverb, or whatever you want to call it.  (Although I did look it up online and I found it worded differently than I had it last year, I think I like this version better.)

May the saddest day of your future be no worse than the happiest day of your past.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Happy New Year, Adam! I hope that 2014 is filled with all kinds of awesomeness. Not sure why 2013 felt the need to rush by so quickly, but I hope 2014 hangs around awhile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

