Why My Favorite Football Player is a Free Agent Punter

As I’m writing this, it’s about 2 or 3 minutes before the BCS National Championship Game with Florida State and Auburn.  We’re also in the middle of the NFL playoffs, with the Wild Card games taking place last weekend and the Divisional Round coming up next weekend.  I enjoy football, but I’m not nearly as big a fan as many other people I know.  The first time I ever been in a Fantasy Football league was this past year, and it will probably be the last time I’ll ever be in one.

So why is my favorite football player a punter?  And one who is currently unemployed?  Because he’s also an extremely intelligent person who is willing to speak his mind on some very important issues.  For those of you who don’t already know who I’m talking about, I’m referring to former Vikings punter Chris Kluwe.  I first heard of Kluwe a couple of years ago when he was in the news a little bit for being a general nerd who was (at the time) playing World of Warcraft.  However, recently he’s been in the news recently for talking about his political views concerning gay marriage.  Here are links to a couple of articles he’s written.

“They Won’t Magically Turn You Into A Lustful Cockmonster”: Chris Kluwe Explains Gay Marriage to the Politician who is Offented by an NFL Player Supporting it.

An End To DOMA

I Was An NFL Player Until I Was Fired By Two Cowards And A Bigot

I agree with everything Kluwe says, but beyond that, I appreciate the bluntness with which he writes.  So often when you hear politicians talking every sentence is layered with so much double talk and subversion that half the time you don’t even know what they’re talking about. (This is one of the things I’ve always liked about Jon Stewart as well, he’ll call politicians on their bullshit.)

Kluwe explains his points, he does it directly, and he doesn’t beat around the bush.  The first article I linked to is a perfect example of why his writing works.  You can see his anger at the blatant stupidity, but he also makes very valid points.  And while some people might not appreciate his profanity, lets face it, that’s how a lot of people – including many very intelligent people – talk today.  Along with that, I think it’s become obvious that trying to play nice doesn’t get anyone listening to you, so maybe it’s time to stop being nice.

His NFL career is basically over, but I certainly hope that he has a long future in whatever he decides to do.  We need more people with a public stage to call politicians on their crap and bluntly talk about issues the way that many people actually think about them.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. sinking_fast

     /  January 8, 2014

    My favourite NFL player as well, without knowing or enjoying the game of football, but simply being a fan of his writings and general positions.
    Happy New Year Adam!
    Sincerely,
    -an old friend

    Reply
    • Happy New Year to you as well. It’s great to hear from you after all this time, what have you been up to?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

