Sciencey Stuff

If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, you’ve quite possibly come across the fact that when I first when to college I was a Music Education Major, and when that kind of fell apart after a fairly short time, I ended up going back to school and I have a B.A. in Psychology.

After starting out majoring in the arts, and then going into what is a softer science, even in college I tried to avoid the hard sciences like the plague.  And yet, I’m fascinated by all kinds of science.  One of the web comics that I read on a regular basis is XKCD, which is very science driven and very funny (if you check out the website, be sure to go to the What If? section, which is one of the high points of my week every Tuesday or Wednesday when he uploads a new question).

I came across a really interesting article recently talking about the Fermi Paradox, and if you’re interested in science, or even just Science Fiction writing, it’s well worth a read.  Here’s the link to the post.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great article – although I can see why you didn’t post it in full! I suspect that there is a lot in the argument that we’re just looking in a way which is too primitive (the time issue seems to make a lot of sense – maybe they are taking ten of our years just to say ‘hello’!), or that we’re trying to listen with the equivalent of an ear trumpet when a sub-sonic radio would be more useful. It does rather assume, of course, that intelligence is the focus of evolution, when of course it’s perfectly possible to live and reproduce perfectly successfully as a jellyfish or a buttercup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

