The Wheel of Time

I love books.  I read them all the time, and reviewing them has been the central theme of my blog since I created it almost a year ago (we’re coming up on the one year anniversary, and I’m planning to do a post talking about that).

If you look back and really analyze your life, you can find specific points where something changed.  In a post on The First Gates, Morgan recently referred to these as Inflection Points, and while it’s very difficult to see an inflection point as they’re occurring, looking back you can often find where your life changed.  A major inflection point in my life was being introduced to The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan.

I always enjoyed reading when I was younger, but as I grew older in high school and college I started to read less and spend my free time on other activities.  I played video games a lot and I also watched a lot of movies.  The Wheel of Time is what got me back into reading, and it managed to do it twice, which is not something many books can say.

I started reading The Wheel of Time fairly early in college, I think when I was a sophomore.  I read the first 1/3 of The Eye of the World, and then went out and bought the next 6 books in the series.  I love these books, and I love the fact that you can go through and read them several times and get something new every time.  I knew a lot of other people who had read the books, and it gave us something to talk about in between classes.  While I have the first 10 books in paperback, I quickly caught up to the series and I’ve purchased the last 3 books in hardcover (pretty much as soon as they came out).

Like many fans of the series, I started to grow impatient with the time between each book release.  That’s when I really started to watch a lot of movies, and the second time in my life that I really got away from reading.

And then the unthinkable happened.  As anyone who reads the series already knows, several years ago, Robert Jordan passed away, leaving the series incomplete.  I was upset when I heard about this, because I loved the books and I couldn’t wait to see how the story ended.  When I found out that Brandon Sanderson was chosen to finish the series, I went out and bought his first novel Elantris.  Halfway through reading Elantris, I went out and bought the Mistborn trilogy, and I’ve been sold on all of his novels since then, and that has expanded into me reading all kinds of books that I never would have imagined reading before.

So there’s an explanation of how The Wheel of Time got me to start devouring books, not once, but twice in my life.  So why am I bringing this up now of all times?  Because earlier this morning (and just now checked out by me) Tor sent out an email announcing the release date of A Memory of Light, the 14th and final book of The Wheel of Time.  Like most of the fans of the series, I’ve been waiting for this announcement for several years, and it’s finally come.  Over 20 years after the series was first released in 1990, the final book will be released January 8th, 2013.

A couple of weeks ago Sanderson announced on his website (as well as via twitter) that he completed the first draft, and since then I’ve eagerly been waiting for the release date for the final book.  This of course immediately brings up the question of when I’m going to start re-reading the books so that I’ll have time to get through all of them before A Memory of Light comes out.  Ideally, I’d like to be finishing up Towers of Midnight (book 13) on January 7th so that I can start reading A Memory of Light immediately.  So where does that leave us?  Giving myself a week to read each book in the series, I’ll be starting the series in early October.

For those of you who have been following the series for years, it’s a wonderful time to be a fan and to start (or plan) your re-read before the final book comes out.  For those of you who haven’t read the series, there really is no better time to start.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. beckyday6

     /  February 19, 2012

    I’ve got the first Wheel of Time book on my shelf waiting to be read, I got it for Christmas. However I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about it and people saying the author ripped off Lord of the Rings? Did you find this at all?
    Thanks for the post, it’s given me more of a postive attitude towards reading the book now. 🙂

    Reply
    • I’ve heard a lot of the complaints that people have about this series, the biggest one being that the series slows down in the middle books. And that’s very true, some of the middle books (particularly books 9 & 10) are pretty slow on your first read through. And while I agree with the first read through being a problem, when I reread the books before I read book 12 they were a lot easier to get through.

      I actually haven’t heard too many people compare this series to LotR before. If you break it down to it’s barest components, most epic fantasy books follow fairly closely to the storyline of LotR (which is also ultimately the same as Wagner’s Ring Cycle – which was based upon Norse Mythology – as well as ancient Greek Myth). I really enjoy the books, there are dozens of interesting characters, a rich world, and an interesting story. Personally, I didn’t see many similarities between the two.

      Reply
  2. hannahrose42

     /  February 21, 2012

    I really can’t wait to read that series… I bought The Mistborn Trilogy and hope to read it this summer. Perhaps over May term I can see if the library has the Wheel of Time books so I can get into the series. I’ve heard from a lot of people that it is excellent.

    Reply
  1. The Wheel of Time is Complete « Reviews and Ramblings

Leave a Reply

