May 2012 Month in Review

And so we come to the close of the fifth month of the year.  We’re finally starting to get some nicer weather up here in Ohio, which means I actually spent some time in the past couple of days reading outdoors.  I know, it’s insanity.

Anyway, I was actually a little surprised with how much reading I was able to get done this month.  I was out of town 5/12-5/15 because I was in Baton Rouge Louisiana for the USBC Open (national bowling tournament).  I brought a couple of books with me, but I only had time to read a couple of chapters while I was down there.  Last Thursday (5/25) was also a wash for me as I spent the day up at Cedar Point in Sandusky Ohio.  Despite having about a week where I wasn’t reading at all, I managed to finish 9 books this month which clocked in at 3165 pages.  So we’re 152 days into the year and I’m up to 17,897 pages for the year, which puts me at an average of just over 117 pages a day, not too bad.

And now we get to the books that I finished this past month:

All told it was a good month of reading.  Although any time that you go through 4 Christopher Moore books in a month it’s going to be good.  I also got back into a little bit of non-fiction this month with the books by Foer and Larson.

And now for the fun part.  In the next couple of weeks I should get my check for cashing in the Ohio State Bowling Tournament.  Ryan and I cashed 10th in doubles, and I should also cash for team, singles, and all events.  All this means I should be getting a pretty nice check for bowling, which means I get to buy books!  I’ve also been slowly working my way through my TBR pile, which means it’s down to about 15 or so books and I’d love some suggestions for more books to look into in the upcoming months.